Turn Up the Heat on Private Prisons (and Gov. Scott)!

TURN UP THE HEAT ON PRIVATE PRISONS
Vermonters don’t want for-profit prisons in our state, and they have been letting Gov. Phil Scott know! There has been an outpouring of activism–from every corner of our community–aimed at keeping companies that profit off of mass incarceration out of the Green Mountain State:
But there is still more work to do. 
Action 1:
We need you to contact the Joint Legislative Justice Oversight Committee and urge the members to move Vermont’s corrections system in a different direction.
 
Suggested Email Script:
 
Dear [Insert Name],
 
I am writing to you from [insert location] to express my concerns about Governor Scott’s plans to bring for-profit prisons to Vermont. Companies like CoreCivic/Corrections Corporation of America profit off of mass incarceration, and this is not consistent with Vermont’s values.
 
Our prison population is disproportionately elderly and suffering from drug addiction. They need compassionate care and rehab services, not to be made into profit centers for immoral corporations.
 
I’m asking the Joint Legislative Justice Oversight Committee to create therapeutic treatment milieus as alternatives to CoreCivic/CCA’s for-profit mass incarceration. Vermonters want a justice system based on rehabilitation, not punishment.
 
Joint Legislative Justice Oversight Committee Contact Info:
Rep. Alice M. Emmons, Chair — aemmons@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Dick Sears Jr., Vice Chair — rsears@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Maxine Grad — mgrad@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Sandy Haas — shaas@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mary S. Hooper — mhooper@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Charles “Butch” Shaw — bshaw@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Tim Ashe — tashe@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Virginia “Ginny” Lyons — vlyons@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Peg Flory — pflory@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. David Soucy — dsoucy@leg.state.vt.us
 
Action 2:
Gov. Scott needs to know we’re still paying attention, and the opposition is not going away. Let him know you are opposed to his plans to bring private prisons to Vermont. 
 
Contact Info:
Phone: 802 828-3333
TTY: 800 649-6825
Fax: 802 828-3339
@GovPhilScott
Email Via: http://governor.vermont.gov/
 
My name is [your name] and I am calling from [your town and zip code]. I want Governor Scott to know that that I oppose his plan to privatize our state prisons. Private, for-profit prisons will not benefit our communities, and will only enrich those who seek to profit off of human bondage. Vermont has an opportunity to be at the forefront of the national call for prison reform, and I would like Governor Scott to seek other alternatives to reducing prison costs and the number of people incarcerated by the state. Any move toward bringing the corrupt private prison industry to our State will cost you my vote.

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s